RSS

Poltergeists. It’s not like in the movies!

06 Aug

You may have heard of, or have even seen the early 1980’s movie, ‘Poltergeist’. It revolves around a little girl named Carol Ann, who comes in to contact with an evil entity. This “man” reeks havoc among the girl and her family. The classic, and very well-known, timeless line is… “They’re heeeeeere!”, as Carol Ann sits in front of the family’s television set.

A ‘poltergeist’ is what is also known as a “noisy ghost”. Actually that is what the name is derived from, which is a German definition.

From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poltergeist

“About this sound Poltergeist (from German poltern, meaning “to rumble”, “to make a noise” and Geist, meaning “ghost” or “spirit”) is in mythology and folklore a ghost, spirit, entity, demonic spirit or being that manifests itself by creating noise or moving objects.”

For the most part, Poltergeist Ghosts are not harmful. They move things, hide things and make noises to be heard and to communicate. Not to physically hurt you. Most cases are generally ‘normal’ and the people affected are not harmed.

Personally, I have had this sort of thing happen when I was a teenager. Though, it did not happen to me personally, the whole family unit was affected.

My grandma (Nana) had this one pair of reading glasses. She normally sat them beside her favorite chair, where she could read under the lamp light.

One day, she was looking for them and asked me to hunt them down. Of course I looked EVERYWHERE. I scoured the place top to bottom. As did my father and my step-mother.

For three solid WEEKS, we all looked for the reading glasses. To no avail. Of course, I got pegged for hiding them out of spite. At the time, Nana didn’t believe that there was ghostly activity, and as a hard-core Catholic, vehemently stated that ghosts are of the devil’s work.

We looked ALL over, high and low. Even in places that we should not have had to look in. Then, my step-mother struck gold! She found the glasses. But in the most unusual of places. It made all of our jaws drop. And made my Nana (finally) a believer.

My step-mom opened the china cabinet (as she did EVERY night for the last three weeks and before) to get the dishes out for dinnertime. Sitting there on the GOOD set of dishes, was my grandmother’s reading glasses. Right there in plain sight. And they just “magically” appeared there.

There are other instances of hearing footsteps and things moving, and even voice activity that I alone have experienced. But that one really stood out to me. And the list is just too freaking long to talk about in one post (LOL).

Here is a book Author that I *highly* recommend to read. Including this book, out of the many he has written about all types of ghostly hauntings.

Here is a video of what types of Poltergeist activities CAN occur. All cases are extremely different. It is also has Ed and Loraine Warren (who are now both deceased), who are highly recommended and knowledgeable Demonologists. Some of what you are about to see, WILL shock you and make you think.

 

3 responses to “Poltergeists. It’s not like in the movies!

  1. pr0udmom0f3

    August 6, 2010 at 10:39 AM

    To me, it's hard to pinpoint the true origin of any haunting. I feel that in some instances, it is psychokinetic. Especially in females, during times of heightened hormonal balances.But I also believe that sometimes, the entities (good or bad) do it to gain attention and to communicate.

     
  2. Jessica Penot

    August 6, 2010 at 10:30 AM

    A lot of theorists think that poltergeist activity is due to the psyokinetic activity of one angsty individual. Have you read these theories? If so, what do you think?

     
  3. Dee

    August 6, 2010 at 8:55 AM

    ok, thats just spooky

     

Someone has haunted my page, and said...